Definition of metropolitan county noun from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary


metropolitan county

; NAmE
jump to other results
each of six new administrative areas of Britain created in 1974. These were formed from large city areas which were separated from the counties they were formerly in. They are Greater Manchester, Merseyside, Tyne and Wear, West Midlands, South Yorkshire and West Yorkshire. Each one was divided into ten districts and there were two systems of local government, county councils and district councils. In 1986, this system changed. County councils were abolished (= brought to an end), leaving only district councils responsible for each district within the metropolitan counties. see also unitary authority