Definition of the Five Towns noun from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary


the Five Towns

; NAmE
jump to other results
five former towns in the Potteries region of the English Midlands. The towns were Tunstall, Burslem, Hanley, Stoke-upon-Trent and Longton. They were close to each other and were important centres of the pottery industry from the 17th century until, in 1910, they joined together as one town, Stoke-on-Trent. The Five Towns became well known as the setting for the novels of Arnold Bennett.