Definition of the Schengen agreement noun from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary


the Schengen agreement

BrE BrE//ˈʃeŋən əɡriːmənt//
; NAmE NAmE//ˈʃeŋən əɡriːmənt//
jump to other results
an agreement between some European countries to remove controls at their borders so that, for example, people can move freely from one country to another without needing to show their passports Culture The agreement was signed in 1985 in the Luxembourg town of Schengen by seven EU countries (Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, France, Germany, Portugal and Spain) and came into force in 1995. It removed border controls for people travelling between these countries which made travel easier. More European countries have joined since, and in 2014 22 European Union countries and four European Free Trade Association countries, together known as the Schengen area, were part of the agreement. The UK and Ireland have chosen to stay outside the Schengen area.