Definition of the United States Senate from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary


the United States Senate

; NAmE
(also the Senate)
jump to other results
the upper house of the US Congress. There are 100 Senators (two from each state), and they are elected for periods of six years. Laws must be passed by both houses (i.e. the Senate and the House of Representatives), but the Senate has special responsibility in matters to do with foreign policy, and it also has the power to 'advise and consent' on appointments made by the President. The Vice-President is the senior officer in the Congress.