Definition of Tuvalu from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary

a country consisting of nine islands in the south-west Pacific Ocean. Its capital city is Fongafale and its official languages are Tuvaluan and English. It was formerly a British colony called the Ellice Islands and became an independent member of the Commonwealth in 1978. See related entries: Countries and continents
See the Oxford Advanced American Dictionary entry: Tuvalu