Definition of The Alexandria Quartet from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary


The Alexandria Quartet

; NAmE
jump to other results
a series of four novels by Lawrence Durrell about the complicated love affairs of a group of friends in Alexandria, Egypt, in the 1930s. The four books are Justine (1957), Balthazar (1958), Mountolive (1958) and Clea (1960). The series forms Durrell's best-known work.