Definition of the Bahamas from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary

a group of about 700 small islands that form an independent state in the West Indies. The two main islands are New Providence, where the capital city of Nassau is and where most of the population live, and Grand Bahama. The Bahamas is a member of the Commonwealth, and its official language is English. It is very popular with tourists. See related entries: Countries and continents
See the Oxford Advanced American Dictionary entry: the Bahamas