Definition of the G8 from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary


the G8

; NAmE
the Group of Eight
jump to other results
eight of the richest industrial countries in the world: Britain, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia and the US. Politicians from these countries have regular meetings, usually to discuss economic problems and policies. Before Russia joined the group in 1998 it was know as the G7 (‘Group of Seven’). In 2014 Russia was suspended from a meeting of the group because of its activities in Ukraine. The Prime Minister is urging the heads of the other G8 countries to come to an agreement.