Definition of the Seven Years War from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary


the Seven Years War

; NAmE
jump to other results
a war (1756-63) between Britain, Prussia and Hanover on one side and Austria, France, Russia, Saxony and Sweden on the other. Its main causes were the struggle between Britain and France to be the most important imperial power (= country in control of an empire), and the struggle between Austria and Prussia to be the most important country in central Europe. The British and Prussian side won, and France had to give most of its land in America, Canada and India to Britain, while Prussia began to be one of the most powerful countries in Europe. see also the French and Indian War