Definition of the Western Isles from the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary


the Western Isles

; NAmE
jump to other results
a council area of north-west Scotland, often called by its official Gaelic name ‘Eilean Siar’. It consists of the islands of the Outer Hebrides: Lewis with Harris, North Uist, South Uist and Barra. Its administrative centre is Stornoway. The term Western Isles is also sometimes used to mean all the islands in the Hebrides.